City of Buckhannon West Virginia
☰ Menu

Larry Carter is a Service to Youth Champion

Larry Carter, front left, accepts his Service to Youth Champion award and official proclamation. He is joined by Debora Brockleman (front center), SYCC Director, Amby Jenkins (front right), Director of Finance & Administration, Sam Nolte (back left), Upshur County Commission President, and David McCauley (back right), Mayor of Buckhannon.
Larry Carter listens to Mayor McCauley reading the Service to Youth Champion proclamation, not yet realizing that he is the 2019 honoree.


WHEREAS, our City’s Stockert Youth & Community Center’s Board of Directors resolved during 2008, to annually honor the service of extraordinary persons who have given selflessly while dedicating their lives to the service of the youth of our Buckhannon-Upshur community by bestowing the Service to Youth Champion award; and,

WHEREAS, during 2008, the first SYCC “Service to Youth Champion” honoree was Patty Muncy, followed by Cathy McCauley in 2009, Dr. Rob Rupp in 2010, Don Nestor in 2011, Joyce Harris-Thacker in 2012, Linda Riegel in 2013, Sam Nolte in 2014, Dr. Sara Stankus in 2015, Jason Westfall in 2016; Craig Presar in 2017; Roy Wager & special honorees, Roy Law & Troy “Buddy” Brady all in 2018; and,

WHEREAS, the City of Buckhannon by its Stockert Youth & Community Center’s Board of Directors further resolved thereafter to annually honor others who have performed extraordinary service for the children of our community, and in so doing to recognize those persons who have substantially contributed to the high quality of life enjoyed by our B-U community’s residents, during a celebration to be known as “Service to Youth Day,” celebrated each year on Junior Royalty Day Thursday during West Virginia Strawberry Festival week; and,

WHEREAS, the City has selected Larry Carter as our SYCC’s 14th Service to Youth Champion, & our City is now proud & privileged to honor & celebrate the many contributions benefiting our community’s children, thanks to Larry Carter, who has long served as the martial arts coordinator for SYCC as Sensei Carter, helped coordinate the very first and highly successful SYCC elimination dinner during the Fall of 2018, played the perfect “Dracula” during the SYCC Haunted House during Halloween 2018, regularly attends SYCC Board meetings offering thoughtful advice & insight, & supports the SYCC capital campaign; and,

WHEREAS, during a ceremony to be conducted at the Stockert Youth & Community Center in Buckhannon, on Thursday, May 16, 2019 at 3:00 p.m., our City will celebrate & recognize service to our youth by all members of our community while honoring Mr. Larry Carter as our newest Service to Youth Champion award recipient.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, DAVID W. McCAULEY, MAYOR OF BUCKHANNON, pursuant to the power & authority duly vested in me, hereby proclaim Thursday, May 16, 2019 to be “SERVICE TO YOUTH DAY” throughout Buckhannon, & I further proclaim Buckhannon’s 2019 recipient of our Service to Youth Champion award to be Larry Carter.  I further urge all residents to join our City’s honoree, Larry Carter, his family, & me, along with the members of our City & SYCC family, & friends near & far during the presentational ceremony to be conducted at 3:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 16, 2019 at Stockert Youth & Community Center. May every resident aspire to being passionate about service to our youth just like our 2019 award winner who we now honor & pay tribute to- Larry Carter, who shall in perpetuity be recognized on the Service to Youth Champions’ bench located in front of our Stockert Youth & Community Center.

Given under my hand & official seal of The City of Buckhannon, this 16th day of May, 2019

David W. McCauley, Mayor

Inscription from Service to Youth Champion award:

Service to Youth Champion


In recognition of your time and dedication to the youth of Upshur County, we appreciate you. Presented to Larry B. Carter in the month of May 2019 during the Annual Strawberry Festival Celebration Week. Presented by the Stockert Youth & Community Center Executive Director and Board of Directors. Thank you for your service.